Happy Girl’s Day!

Today is Girl’s Day aka Hinamatsuri aka Doll Festival aka March 3rd.   Girl’s Day is a Japanese celebration in which families decorate one room in their house with ceremonial dolls to ensure their daughter’s future happiness.  The dolls are kept out for a few days and then put away for the rest of the year.

I am 100% Japanese and for as long as I can remember we never put dolls out for Girl’s Day!  Although, my parents like to remind me with old pictures that they once did put the lavish display up when I was a baby, but peetered out by the time I got older.  We do still celebrate it with a card and a little gift 😉

Although I’m a California girl born and raised, I have been living in Hawaii for work for the past 6 months.  I love living in Hawaii.  There is a large presence of Japanese Americans and it has helped me learn so much about my culture and heritage.  This morning at work, someone came around with strawberry mochi in celebration for Girl’s Day.  I wish I snapped a picture, but I didn’t have it with me 😦  Anyway, happy girl’s day!  On to the food, that I actually took pictures of today!

Breakfast started with my current fave:  Cottage cheese + granola + jam.

Lunch was salad, string cheese and half an apple…

The salad consisted of spinach (lots of it!), tomatoes, broccoli, carrots, and taco meat.  I topped the salad with some fresh salsa verde that I picked up at the local farmer’s market.

Today was one of those days where I felt like I couldn’t.stop.eating.  The rest of the days eats included, a hard boiled egg, carrots, yogurt, the rest of my apple and a macaroon 🙂

After work I went to spin class and worked my tail off.  I came home and made an egg scramble with leftover veggies from my salad.

For accountability’s sake, I also had some dried blueberries and tortilla chips after I ate this 🙂

I’m off to chill out in front of the boob tube for the rest of the night!

Leave a Reply

